Kenny Feldman Animal Advocate Award

Kenny Feldman

Established in 2015, the Kenny Feldman Animal Advocate Award is a program of Compassionate Action for Animals that recognizes a person, organization, or business whose outstanding work is helping farmed animals in significant ways.

The nomination period for the 2020 award has now closed. The winner of the 2020 Kenny Feldman Animal Advocate Award will be announced at our virtual ThanksLiving celebration on November 15, 2020.

The award honors the memory of animal lover Kenny Feldman. Kenny thought animals were to be cared for and allowed to a live a life with freedom. Kenny was a close friend of Compassionate Action for Animals co-founder Unny Nambudiripad, and he inspired Unny to become an activist. Sadly, we lost Kenny to suicide in 1999. From that tragic loss, we were moved to establish this annual award to acknowledge the contributions of individuals who strive to create a more compassionate world.

Award Recipients

2015: The Herbivorous Butcher

Aubry and Kale Walch of The Herbivorous Butcher

2016: Senator Scott Dibble

Scott Dibble
Minnesota State Senator Scott Dibble

2017: Christine Coughlin

Christine Coughlin, Minnesota State Director of the Humane Society of the United States

2018: Matt Mackall, Unny Nambudiripad, and Dave Rolsky

Matt Mackall and Unny Nambudiripad, CAA founders
Dave Rolsky, CAA founder at Poplar Spring Farm Sanctuary

2019: Shannon Kimball

Shannon Kimball
Shannon Kimball, Humane Educator and Program Coordinator for Bridges of Respect

The Feldman family wants to thank CAA, Unny Nambudiripad, and current Executive Director Laura Matanah for helping preserve Kenny’s memory and continuing his legacy of being an animal lover and activist in animal rights campaigns. To learn more about Kenny and his legacy, visit the Remembering Kenny Feldman Facebook page.

Get Involved

Subscribe to our weekly update:



Veg Resources

Upcoming Events